IGEAT-Ulb

In the field of tourism, IGEAT conducts research from a systemic and interdisciplinary perspective into the interactions between tourism, territorial dynamics and social dynamics. Tourist area production schemes, the processes of developing tourist resources and heritage sites and, more generally, the role of tourism stakeholders are the main topics of research.

There are many sides to the tourism business: commercial management of tourism, heritage and cultural-tourism management, land-use planning, and so on.

The Master’s gives graduates a comprehensive view of this sector. The student is familiarized with the specific concepts of tourism and acquires the analytical tools and methods necessary to meet various professional requirements.

The teaching provides the tools required to take on high-level responsibilities in business management. It deepens knowledge of national and international practices and highlights enhancement techniques designed to develop the region and the environment. Lastly, it encourages students to consider rules and best practices, so that touristic activity can be integrated into their environment and into society as seamlessly as possible.

IGEAT-Ulb

Dans le champ du tourisme, l’IGEAT mène, selon une perspective systémique et interdisciplinaire, des recherches sur les interactions entre tourisme, dynamiques territoriales et dynamiques sociétales. Les logiques de production des territoires touristiques, les processus de valorisation des ressources touristiques et des patrimoines et, de manière générale, le rôle des acteurs touristiques, constituent les thèmes principaux de recherche.

Les facettes de l’activité touristique sont multiples : gestion commerciale du tourisme, gestion du patrimoine et du tourisme culturel, aménagement du territoire…

Le Master procure aux diplômés une perception globale de ce secteur. L’étudiant se familiarise avec les concepts spécifiques du tourisme et acquiert les outils et méthodes d’analyse nécessaires pour répondre aux diverses exigences professionnelles.

L’enseignement fournit les outils pour la prise de responsabilités de haut niveau dans le management des entreprises. Il approfondit la connaissance des pratiques nationales et internationales et met l’accent sur les techniques de valorisation soucieuses du développement local et de l’environnement. Enfin, il propose à l’étudiant de prendre en compte les règles et bonnes pratiques permettant d’intégrer le plus harmonieusement possible l’activité touristique dans son environnement et dans la société.